· 

HEAR IT LOUD | No8 | TOM WAITS


To go waltzing Mathilda, waltzing Mathilda. You'll go a-waltzing Mathilda with me.

 

TOM WAITS - Artist

TOM TRAUBERTS BLUES - Title

 

 



SONGTEXT

 

Wasted and wounded, it ain't what the moon did

Got what I paid for now

See ya tomorrow, hey Frank can I borrow

A couple of bucks from you?

 

To go waltzing Mathilda, waltzing Mathilda

You'll go a-waltzing Mathilda with me

 

I'm an innocent victim of a blinded alley

And tired of all these soldiers here

No one speaks English and everything's broken

And my Stacys are soaking wet

 

To go waltzing Mathilda, waltzing Mathilda

You'll go a-waltzing Mathilda with me

 

Now the dogs are barking and the taxi cab's parking

A lot they can do for me

I begged you to stab me, you tore my shirt open

And I'm down on my knees tonight

Old Bushmill's I staggered, you buried the dagger

Your silhouette window light

 

To go waltzing Mathilda, waltzing Mathilda

You'll go a-waltzing Mathilda with me

 

Now I lost my Saint Christopher now that I've kissed her

And the one-armed bandit knows

And the maverick Chinaman and the cold-blooded signs

And the girls down by the strip-tease shows

 

Go, waltzing Mathilda, waltzing Mathilda

You'll go a-waltzing Mathilda with me

 

No, I don't want your sympathy

The fugitives say that the streets aren't for dreaming now

Manslaughter dragnets and the ghosts that sell memories

They want a piece of the action anyhow

 

Go, waltzing Mathilda, waltzing Mathilda

You'll go a-waltzing Mathilda with me

 

And you can ask any sailor and the keys from the jailor

And the old men in wheelchairs know

That Mathilda's the defendant, she killed about a hundred

And she follows wherever you may go

 

Waltzing Mathilda, waltzing Mathilda

You'll go a-waltzing Mathilda with me

 

And it's a battered old suitcase to a hotel someplace

And a wound that will never heal

No prima donna, the perfume is on

An old shirt that is stained with blood and whiskey

And goodnight to the street sweepers

The night watchman flame keepers and goodnight,

Mathilda too.

 

 

 

Songwriter: Tom Waits

Songtext von Tom Traubert's Blues

© BMG Rights Management US, LLC